My journey hasn’t finished and look at the difference already

Jayne lost 2st with WW!*
Published 3 December, 2020

After my yearly check-up at my GPs, my blood results came back that I was pre diabetic and my HBa1c reading was up at 48. My weight was up ay 16st, and my clothes size was creeping up, and I was now wearing a 22. I was pre-diabetic through my pregnancy, so it was a potential to return in later life, and here I was. I was struggling to walk, and it wasn’t pleasant. It was time to do something about it before I was a full-blown diabetic, which would then mean lots of medications. My ankles and feet were also swollen.

My gp offered me the opportunity to join WeightWatchers on the NDPP programme.

I started in January 21 and have so far lost 2 stone on the plan. I’m now halfway on my journey, and I’d like to lose another 2 stone. Although I’m halfway through my journey I’m over the moon already as my HBa1c reading has already dropped down to 42, which means I’m well on my way to being free from the risk of diabetes, and that’s amazing, and no longer in the pre-diabetic category.

When I first joined, I thought the plan looked very complicated, but I had nothing to worry about, and after a couple of weeks I’m now using the amazing app like a professional! I never use my weekly points so always have them if I feel like a treat. You can eat whatever you want as long as you track and keep within your points. I love the app being able to scan foods when you are out shopping.

I love attending my virtual workshops, and I now attend a virtual workshop once a fortnight. They just help you refocus if you need to and it’s nice to talk to others on the same journey as yourself. The plan has given me control of what I’m eating, and I never go hungry.

My weight loss so far now means that my clothes size has dropped from a size 22 to a size 18. My ankles and feet are no longer swollen, and I can walk for an hour and a half every day, making sure I get my 10,000 steps, and I love it. I would never have been able to do this before. I can now carry my shopping without huffing and puffing. I go swimming and have recently just done my first yoga class. I’ve also just been invited to a good friend’s wedding in September, and I would love to reach my goal weight by then so I can buy a nice new outfit and will look forward to the dress shopping this time.

My eating used to be breakfast was usually nothing and now its banana pancakes, or poached eggs with mushrooms and spinach. Lunch used to be a meal deal with sandwich, crisps and a drink, but now I have home made vegetable soup, or a brown bread sandwich with ham or chicken, lots of salad and a packet of ww crisps. Dinner used to be lots of takeaways, but now having chicken, salmon or homemade burgers with roasted vegetables, salad and home-made chips. I now eat lots of fruit and my favourite snack is an apple with a babybel cheese. I still have a chocolate biscuit with my tea, but just make sure its pointed within my budget.

My friends and family are all commenting how happy I look, and I would like to say a very big thank you to the NHS and WW for getting me to where I’m at, as I would never have done it without your help, and my 3 bits of advice to anyone thinking of joining…Keep within your points. Get a good night’s sleep. Walk lots.